A Harmless Little Ruse Blitz & International Giveaway! (ends11/23/16)

November 19, 2016

RBR-button-small

A Harmless Little Ruse
Meli Raine (Harmless #2)

Publication date: November 18th 2016
Genres: Adult, Romantic Suspense, Political Thriller

She has no idea what she’s doing. Loose cannons never hit their targets.
And they take out plenty of collateral damage.
Four years ago Lindsay experienced the unspeakable right before me, and I couldn’t stop them.
But that’s all changed now.
When her father, Senator Bosworth, contacted me to ask — demand — that I protect her, it was a second chance. A shot at redemption.
An opportunity to right an unspeakable wrong.
Controlling Lindsay as she seeks her revenge on the monsters who hurt her won’t be hard.
Containing my own out-of-control feelings for Lindsay and keeping up this ruse of cold-blooded distance will be.
Even harder than admitting to her what really happened that night four years ago.
It turns out I don’t have to, though.
Someone else did it for me.
And I’ll make sure they regret it.
* * *
A Harmless Little Ruse is the second in this political thriller/romantic suspense trilogy by USA Today bestselling author Meli Raine. This series includes:
A Harmless Little Game (Now available)
A Harmless Little Plan (release date December 13, 2016)
Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

EXCERPT:

I wake up to an empty bed.

It’s not mine.

Lindsay’s gone.

I can feel a change in the air. I jump to my feet, instantly alert, blood pumping to arms and legs that are battle-ready. Her bedroom room smells like lavender and beeswax, mingled with the hot scent of sex. I swear her heat still lingers on the sheets. The ceiling fan is still, the room crackling with silence.

I grab my gun belt and —

What the hell?

My weapon is missing.

Gun’s gone.

Lindsay’s gone.

Oh, shit.

She didn’t?

She did.

“Gentian,” I bark as I shove my earpiece in. “Where’s Lilac?” Lilac’s her code name.

“With you,” he responds.

“Negative.”

Dead air.

“Gentian?”

“I don’t know, sir. No one’s seen her. Last we knew, she was locked in her bedroom with you.”

No trace of irony. No hint of teasing. If he had even one whiff of either, he’d have his ass handed to him.

And he knows it.

“She’s gone, Gentian. Find her.”

“Yes, sir.”

The instant flurry of activity in the house matches my organs. They rearrange themselves inside me as I assess the situation, which is pretty fucking simple.

Lindsay stole my gun and ran away.

Doesn’t get much simpler than that.

Last night was the first time in four damn years that I slept. Actual REM sleep. The night those bastards tortured us was the first night of my new life.

A life without sleep.

And last night?

I slept like someone who had finally come home.

“Jesus,” I mutter to myself. “Great job, Drew. She totally snowed you.”

I have to hand it to Lindsay. She fooled me. I believed her act the entire time. She managed to outwit us all.

Damn smart woman.

Damn dangerous, too.

rusefbteaser

Author Bio:

Meli Raine writes romantic suspense with hot bikers, intense undercover DEA agents, bad boys turned good, and Special Ops heroes — and the women who love them.

Meli rode her first motorcycle when she was five years old, but she played in the ocean long before that. She lives in New England with her family.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

GIVEAWAY!

Blitz-wide giveaway (INTL)

XBTBanner1

7 Comments

  • anne November 19, 2016 at 4:43 pm

    Thanks for this great feature and giveaway. The book sounds intriguing.

  • Emily Endrizzi November 19, 2016 at 7:46 pm

    This sounds like a very sexy book. Great cover!

    • LAWonder10 November 24, 2016 at 5:09 pm

      Hi, Emily, I hope it isn’t too sexy!
      LOL!
      Thank you for the comment and entry on my site.
      Lu Ann

  • dianne casey November 19, 2016 at 9:49 pm

    Book sounds like a fascinating read. Thanks for the giveaway.

  • Sherry Legan November 20, 2016 at 2:21 am

    Great review. I’m hosting a special party. Book suggestions for Christmas gifts.
    I’d love for you to come over and share your suggestions. Feel free to link a review(s) or write a post with your list. The party starts Thanksgiving Day at noon and goes all weekend.
    Here’s a link to the announcement.:
    http://ourholidayjourney.blogspot.com/2016/11/reviewers-suggestions-for-christmas.html
    Come and join the party.
    Happy Thanksgiving. Happy Reading.

    • LAWonder10 November 24, 2016 at 5:07 pm

      Thank you! Sounds like a great idea, Sherry.
      Lu Ann

  • edye November 22, 2016 at 9:39 pm

    Sounds like a nice read.