About Me

May 15, 2013

me

RBR-button-small

I grew up with a mother who loved books. She instilled in me a desire to learn, through books, all I could on any subject.  I learned of many places I could visit – both real and imaginary – simply by reading about them.                                                                       

I had a father who taught me a love of mankind, regardless of their religious belief or the color of their skin.   He taught me a person’s honesty and integrity was among the most important aspects that forms a strong character.

Through these life’s lessons I strive to accept others for themselves and try to see the world through others view. It is important to me to give credit where credit is due even if the person’s values are not the same as mine.  I strive to be objective and honest and go the extra mile in aiding others to succeed.

This is my dream job!  I have always wanted to work for a publishing house – reading, reviewing and editing books. Now, online, this can partially be accomplished. I love most genres of books. There is much good in most genre types.

… I  suppose you are wondering, while there are so many terrific reviewers available, what makes me think I can add anything effective to what has already been said about the book. The only response I have is:  (1.) There are almost as many opinions as there are individuals in this world. (2.) This has been my lifelong dream job. (3.) Reading and Reviewing has always come naturally to me. I have always been strong in my English grammar and reading skills, I loved debate, and I craved learning about almost everything.          

  I have come to realize through my adult years I was not the average child. While other children played with their toys, I preferred to be around people of various ages and listen to their stories of growing up, and of their experiences.  I listened to their complaints, their joys, their concerns, their sorrows, etc.  I loved helping the elderly anyway I could. I would afterwards sit and visit with them and learn from their life experiences.

As I baby sat for couples I would listen to their conversations and continue to observe and learn. (Yes, I suppose I was truly nosy. But I prefer to say I just loved others and cared.)  Children much older than I often confided in me and asked advise on many subjects. It drove my mom almost crazy with the time I spent on the phone with them. She couldn’t understand it. I felt it was a perfectly normal thing to do.

My parents were older when they married. They actually dated during the horse and buggy days!  To me, they never felt ‘old’ except in some of their views on education, marriage, holding hands, etc. My brothers were older and many of their friends became my friends. We had friends of all races, lifestyles and religions. Perhaps because of all these reasons is why I am interested in all types of subjects and time frames.

 I have worked in libraries, substitute taught, I began  a degree in English and debate but never was able to finish my degree.

  I have a wonderful husband, and almost equally wonderful children and grandchildren – Hey, but I am not old!

Rockin’ Book Reviews.  I liked the theme of Rockin’ Book Reviews because reading really does “rock”!  Reading can take one places where one has never been – both imaginary and real. Through reading, one can experience life through other’s eyes. History can become real. Reading will bring to life all the emotions one can feel – fear, horror, happiness, sorrow, excitement, anticipation, love, scorn, and stimulate feelings of confidence, peace and safety. Reading can bring one knowledge and understanding. We have to experience to bad to feel gratitude for the good.  Reading “Rocks”!  I am honest and strive to be fair and objective.  My reading preference is for books that are more conservative. I still strive to be fair in my reviews even when the authors thoughts values are different from mine.

I hope you will join me on this site and leave a  comment. Also become a follower through Facebook and the other media icons on this site.

Sincerely,

Lu Ann Worley

Follow me on my social media!

14 Comments

  • Michael Baldwin July 28, 2015 at 6:43 pm

    Lu Ann, I am sending you copies of my books Murder Music and Passing Strange (science fiction short stories) for review. You sound like an excellent reviewer for my type of writing. As I said in my Linked-In message to you, I am a former librarian and now trying to be a full-time writer. I hope you will enjoy and help promote my books. Best wishes, Mike

  • Linda Weaver Clarke August 18, 2015 at 12:27 am

    Hi Lu Ann,

    I emailed you about winning a book by Author and Singer Eric Dodge. I haven’t heard from you and began to worry that I had the wrong email address. Please get back to me soon and let me know if you received that email. I only give people 3 – 4 days to respond.

    Thanks, Lu Ann.

    Best,
    Linda Weaver Clarke

  • EJourney September 11, 2015 at 9:44 pm

    I can totally relate to most things you said here. I was initially raised by a grandmother in a house full of books So, I was drawn into solitary pursuits. First drawing, then reading.

    More power to you. And thank you sincerely for reviewing my books.

    • LAWonder10 September 18, 2015 at 1:16 am

      E.,
      I truly appreciated the opportunity to read them.
      Lu Ann

  • Musashi Miyamoto September 22, 2015 at 8:47 am

    From clear and concise to fun and exhilerating; a review for every genre. Each given a fair critique rather than harsh criticism. I know where to forward my WIP to ensure potential readers get a genuine and thoughtful review.

    • LAWonder10 September 23, 2015 at 5:10 am

      Musashi.
      Thank you for those kind words! They are precious to me.
      I hope you will visit my blog often!
      With Sincere Appreciation,
      Lu Ann

  • Natalie Winch November 19, 2015 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks so much for the lovely review and the opportunity for the
    interview. I really enjoyed seeing your responses. I also spent some time
    looking at your other reviews and very much enjoyed reading them.

    I like that you have the site divided into age group categories. I have
    two young adult readers at home and have bookmarked your page. Sometimes
    it is difficult to find appropriate books for my students. I am very excited to have
    a place to reference for new titles for them.

    I think one of the best things that has happened since getting the book
    published is being exposed to wonderful sites like yours.

    Thanks again-
    Natalie Winch

    • LAWonder10 November 20, 2015 at 6:35 am

      Natalie,
      Your kind words mean more to me than you can know!
      I keep trying to think of ways to make it more affective. I am open to any you can offer.
      My Blog Site Mission is very important to me. I try very hard to be fair and objective.
      I find so many books written for YA to be books I would not appreciate my YA reading and
      feel I need to add a warning to parents in my review and yet not allow it to affect
      objective ratings.
      Thank you for providing the book and answering the review questions so well.
      With Great Appreciation,
      Lu Ann

  • Rolland Love June 17, 2016 at 10:02 pm

    Love what you do, your background and your website. Do I pay for a review via PayPal? What is the cost

    • LAWonder10 June 18, 2016 at 4:53 am

      Hi Rolland there is no cost, just patience. I am very backlogged.
      Please visit http://rockinbookreviews.com and read my Book Review Policies page.
      Thank you so much for your kind words.
      Lu Ann

  • Rose Rosetree July 2, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    Lu Ann, reading really does rock. I appreciate all you have written here about you, and can relate to much of it.

    Although no grandchild yet, just a stand-up young man… who LOVES to read. 🙂

    And thanks so much for your patience, as with the exchange right above this comment.

    Yes, I will friend you on Facebook. If you’ll have me! (Not as conservative probably and yet I suspect we share many values.)

    Thank you so much, Lu Ann, for being one of such a small group of people who do book reviews with ethics and caring and expertise.

    • LAWonder10 July 4, 2016 at 1:39 pm

      Rose,
      What a wonderful message! Thank you so much for your interest in reading my “About Me’
      and for those awesomely kind words!!
      Yes, I am very Conservative but love that in the United States we have the freedom
      (at least presently) to express opposing views and be as individual as we wish.
      I love all of my family unconditionally even though there are some with very different views.
      That is what is wonderful about life…so much variety and diversity!
      With Appreciation,
      Lu Ann

  • Melissa Muldoon December 7, 2016 at 7:41 pm

    Ciao Lu Ann, Thank you very much for featuring my new novel “Dreaming Sophia” on your website. I enjoyed reading your review of the book! It makes me very happy that Sophia’s story and her journey to Italy resonated with you. Grazie!

    Happy blogging and Book Reviewing!

    Un grande abbraccio! Ci sentiamo! Melissa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *