Hell Holes:What Lurks Below by Donald Firesmith – Review by LAWonder10!

May 31, 2017

A NEW COVER REVEALED + MY REVIEW!

What I thought at first was a documentary type story, I was “Horrified” to find out otherwise! Soon to be offered in an upcoming Blog Hop!

Blurb:
It’s August in Alaska, and geology professor Jack Oswald prepares for the new school year. But when hundreds of huge holes mysteriously appear overnight in the frozen tundra north of the Arctic Circle, Jack receives an unexpected phone call. An oil company exec hires Jack to investigate, and he picks his climatologist wife and two of their graduate students as his team. Uncharacteristically, Jack also lets Aileen O’Shannon, a bewitchingly beautiful young photojournalist, talk him into coming along as their photographer. When they arrive in the remote oil town of Deadhorse, the exec and a biologist to protect them from wild animals join the team. Their task: to assess the risk of more holes opening under the Trans-Alaska Pipeline and the wells and pipelines that feed it. But they discover a far worse danger lurks below. When it emerges, it threatens to shatter Jack’s unshakable faith in science. And destroy us all…

Buy links: Amazon | Smashwords

My Review:

As I began to read this book, I thought it was a documentary type of story…Then all “Hell” broke loose!

This is a tale of an interesting group of people sent to inspect some anomalies occurring around the Alaskan pipeline and Artic Circle. They were not prepared for the horrors which awaited them. Only one of them was “clued in” on what was really happening!

This is definitely a book for fans of ‘Texas Chainsaw Massacre’, ‘Halloween series’, ‘A Nightmare on Elm Street’, etc.!

This fast-paced book was quite well written and gruesomely descriptive, but not enough time was spent on allowing the reader to become acquainted with the characters, nor their associations leading to the traumatic events. I think the new Book Cover better represents the tory content. The Title was very well-chosen.

On a personal note, I didn’t like the profanity occasionally used no the extreme violence. However, it was quite unique and for those who enjoy horror, it will possibly be truly enjoyed.

I offer a Three and a Half Stars rating.
This book was a gift. I am not required to offer a positive review. This is my honest review.

Author’s Bio:
A geek by day, Donald Firesmith works as a system and software engineer helping the US Government acquire large, complex software-intensive systems. In this guise, he has authored seven technical books, written numerous software- and system-related articles and papers, and spoken at more conferences than he can possibly remember. He’s also proud to have been named a Distinguished Engineer by the Association of Computing Machinery, although his pride is tempered somewhat by his fear that the term “distinguished” makes him sound like a graybeard academic rather than an active engineer whose beard is still slightly more red than gray.

By night and on weekends, his alter ego writes modern paranormal fantasy, apocalyptic science-fiction, action and adventure novels and relaxes by handcrafting magic wands from various magical woods and mystical gemstones. His first foray into fiction is the book Magical Wands: A Cornucopia of Wand Lore written under the pen name Wolfrick Ignatius Feuerschmied. He lives in Crafton, Pennsylvania with his wife Becky, and his son Dane, and varying numbers of dogs, cats, and birds.

Social Media:

No Comments

Comments are closed.