Interview/Giveaway by Exciting, New Author, Ashtyn Newbold! (ends 1/10/17)

December 29, 2016

An ADDED BONUS! Follow-up Interview with exciting, new author, Ashtyn Newbold with Giveaway!

For Historical Fiction fans, you will not want to miss reading  this outstanding , “clean”  tale of “Mischief”& Honor, with a touch of romance and mystery!

Be sure to enter the International Giveaway at the end of this posting! (U.S./Can. Print copy/International e-copy)

About the book:

Paperback, 272 pages
Published December 1st 2016 by Sweetwater Books
ISBN: 1462119379 (ISBN13: 9781462119370)

When Annette Downing and her mischievous little brothers are sent to Kellaway Manor for the summer, she hopes for a relaxing escape. But Annette finds her closeted heart in jeopardy when reunited with the handsome Owen Kellaway, a childhood friend and respected gentlemen. When events come to light that question Owen’s character, Annette reaches the most difficult stalemate yet. After climbing so high, will she fall or take flight at last?

https://www.amazon.com/Ashtyn-Newbold/e/B01H8ENCHS/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1
My Review:
When but a young girl, Annette Dawning’s parents were returning home from visiting a friend, had an accident and were killed, leaving her and an toddler and infant son behind, as well. A bitter aunt was left to “care” for them, which was brutal for all. the boys were very young and “fun loving” , often getting them all in trouble. Annette was now beyond the marriageable age of many young women. Without her aunt offering a dowry or providing her with any opportunity of “a Season”, Annette was content to just work and care for her two brothers, but not with this aunt. She had to stay and protect her brothers. She promised to always take care of them.
After another couple of incidents, all three were sent to her parents old friends to “visit”. Annette was given a letter which had been sent five years ago stating the children could visit anytime. Would that invitation still be in effect? Annette was determined now they were away, she would somehow find a job and never go back. Her plan began to form but then so many incidents began to unfold which soon became life and death!
This is a well-written, steadily progressing novel of a time of pride, honor, and social status. Annette was one of many women caught up by sad circumstance, losing their social status and inheritance. This is a time children were often at the mercy of a distant relative who were not happy about having to raise another’s child/children…A time where children and women had not legal protection from mistreatment…No rights at all!
The author adds intrigue and some suspense to the story, further captivating the reader. It is the third novel by a very talented, upcoming author. the characters feel very real, the scenes easily visualized through words, and the Book Cover and Title interesting and a god “fit”.
The only negative was in a few places which felt slightly dragged out, but never losing interest.
*This earns Four and a Half Stars.
+This book was gifted me but in no way was I required to give apositibve review. This is my honest review.

About the author:

Ashtyn Newbold discovered a love of writing early in high school. Inspired by the propriety of regency period romance, she wrote her first novel at the age of sixteen. The first chapter of this manuscript won first place at a teen writing camp contest. When not crafting handsome historical heroes, she enjoys baking, sewing, and music. She hopes to obtain a degree in English and creative writing and dreams of traveling to England. She currently resides in Lehi, Utah, with her family.

Please tell us a little about yourself,  i.e where you grew up,  how many siblings,  your pets, and favorite activities as a child.

I grew up in Lehi, Utah. I still live there now with my family as I’m heading into my second semester at Utah Valley University. I have one older brother, a younger brother, and a younger sister. I also have an adorable Shorkie dog named Charlie. He’s so cute! My family is always joking around and finding things to laugh about. When I was little, my favorite activities were singing (all the time!) at the top of my lungs around the house, playing dress-up, drawing pictures, doing anything crafty, and making up recipes and getting into mischief with my friends Brooke and Anna. (Some incidents in Mischief and Manors may or may not have been inspired our own childhood antics :))

That sounds like a delightful childhood!

How much research do you put into a book before you begin writing it? Do you feel it is important? Why or why not?

There are many writers who absolutely love research, but I’m not one of them. I certainly don’t hate it, but I’ve never been very patient, so I find that I want to just jump into the writing, as that is my favorite part. I believe writing any book requires some research, but for historical fiction, research is very important. Sometimes I just want to write fantasy so I can create my own world instead of trying to fit my characters into the tight box of a historical period. I might try it someday. But in the end, I tell myself that historical fiction is still fiction. If my characters want to act a little out of the ordinary for their time, I let them. Because I believe that sacrificing a little fact is okay if you end up with a more exciting piece of fiction.

Well, you certainly captivated your audience well. I adore the Title you created!

You were only sixteen when you published your first Novel! Please share the process you went through in getting it published at such a young age.

Yes! Mischief and Manors is my first book, and I wrote it when I was between the ages of fifteen and sixteen. The summer before I started high school I was introduced to the world of Jane Austen, and I couldn’t get enough! I loved the elegance, smart conversation, witty banter, country houses, gardens, and British accents 😉 I had also enrolled in a creative writing class that taught me how much I loved to write. After I had the idea to write a regency romance story of my own, I couldn’t give up on it. A year and a half later, I had my rough draft finished, and another six months after I started submitting my manuscript to publishers and agents. Eventually Cedar Fort loved my story enough to publish it! I remember receiving their acceptance letter in my email while I was in the locker room after gym class my senior year. I squealed really loud. I was so excited! The whole publishing process has been so much fun, and it has been great working with Cedar Fort again on my second novel, Lies and Letters, coming July 2017!

This is exciting news! I am looking forward to reading it!

What were your biggest challenges?

Finding time to write was difficult, and still is. I thought it was hard finding time while I was in high school, but now as a full-time college student and working part-time, I find it very difficult! More challenging than anything though, is facing rejection. My manuscript was originally rejected by one other publishing company and at least a dozen agents. Even though I had been taught to expect rejection, (many insanely talented writers have been rejected dozens and dozens of times) it didn’t change the fact that it hurt. I wrote such a big piece of my heart into my story, and it stings to have it rejected. It’s scary putting your work out for the world to see! It’s a very vulnerable thing, and I now understand why writers need to have thick skin. But what we all need to understand is that opinions vary so, so much, and unless your book has a $20 bill taped to each page, not everyone is going to like it. And even so, there may be someone who complains about what kind of tape you used. 🙂

LOL! ..So True! I have come to appreciate what you authors are truly up against in getting your books read! I TOTALLY ADMIRE YOU!

What advice do you have for other youth who contemplate being an Author?

Never stop writing! Read, read, read. Learn as much as you can. Attend writing camps, take creative writing classes, write a little bit each day, and use your imagination. Write about what you love and what inspires you. Just think–you have a story inside your head that nobody else is capable of writing but you. Don’t you have a responsibility to tell it? 🙂 Something else that has helped me is to have friends read my stories and give me feedback. It’s a great motivator to hear the positive things, but the critical feedback is extremely helpful in finding mistakes you didn’t recognize at first.

That is all great advise.

Projecting ahead, what goals do you hope to complete in the next five to ten years?

 

Graduate college, travel to England and Ireland, write more books! I would also love to open a cute little bakery one day.

Oh. Can I crawl into your suitcase when you go? I have always wanted to visit both places for ancestral reasons. WOW! You have culinary skill, also!

QUICK QUESTIONS:

Are you at your best morning, afternoon or evening?

Evening

While relaxing, do you prefer reading print or Ebook?

Print

When vacationing, do you prefer car, boat or plane?

Car

Who are your favorite Authors?

There are so many great ones. I love Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, and Elizabeth Gaskell, of course. As for contemporary authors, I love books by Sarah M. Eden, Josi S. Kilpack, Julianne Donaldson, Jennifer Moore, Julie Klassen, and Jodi Hedlund. And outside of my own writing genre, I love books by J.K. Rowling, Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth, Marie Lu, Dan Wells, Kiera Kass, and many more.

If you could have any actors to play the main characters in your book, who would you choose?

Hands down Liam Hemsworth for the leading man, Owen Kellaway. He is seriously the perfect fit (if he could pull off a decent British accent, of course). I love Emma Watson and think she would make a great Annette Downing.

Who are your favorite Singers?

Oh, this is hard. I can’t really pick favorites, but I love all songs with beautiful lyrics and that showcase beautiful voices.

FINAL QUESTION:

What quirk do you have which most people are not aware of?

Hmm. I don’t really know. My friends and family probably know my quirks better than I do…you might have to ask them 🙂 I can talk with my cheeks full of water! Does that count? 

LOL! That is definitely unusual! I do not want to be around when you laugh at that time!

Thank you, Ashtyn for this delightful interview!

Be sure to follow Ashtyn by using the media below and by visiting her web site!

http://www.ashtynnewbold.com/ |Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on Pinterest Follow Us on RSS

Enter the Giveaway by completing the Rafflecopter below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 Comments

  • Lisa Brown December 29, 2016 at 2:54 pm

    Yes, I love historical fiction.

  • Dianne Casey December 29, 2016 at 3:12 pm

    I am a fan of historical fiction. I like reading about how people lived and the events that took place before our time.

  • anne December 29, 2016 at 3:14 pm

    Historical fiction is my favorite genre since it is captivating, fascinating and gives me an escape which I enjoy. Visiting another era, place and realm.

  • Cheri Madison December 29, 2016 at 7:13 pm

    Historical fiction is fascinating. It makes a whole different world come alive.

  • Cheri Madison December 29, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    Historical fiction is great! It opens our eyes to a whole different world–but one that really existed, wasn’t just a fantasy.

  • Julie P December 29, 2016 at 7:56 pm

    Historical fiction is my favorite genre. I think I can get into it more than I can contemporary fiction because it just feels more believable. And I love the escape!

  • edye December 30, 2016 at 12:27 am

    YES! I love anything historical.

  • Diane Elizabeth December 30, 2016 at 3:21 am

    Yes, I love getting a glimpse of a different era.