JUST LIKE YOU SAID IT WOULD BE Blog Tour & International Giveaway! (ends 4/6/17)

March 31, 2017

I have it on Good Authority, this is an excellently written book!

Just Like You Said it Would Be
C.K. Kelly Martin
Publication date: February 15th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Did you ever want something so much that it felt like a kind of sickness, one you didn’t want to be cured of? On New Year’s Eve the feeling compels seventeen-year-old Amira to text the Irish ex-boyfriend she’s been missing desperately since they broke up at the end of summer, when she returned to Canada.

They agreed they wouldn’t be friends, that it would never be enough. But that was then— back when Amira’s separated parents had shipped her off to relatives in Dublin for the summer so they could test-drive the idea of getting back together on a long haul cruise. Back when Amira was torn away from a friend in need in Toronto only to fall in love with a Dublin screenwriting class and take a step closer to her dream career. And only to fall for cousin Zoey’s bandmate, Darragh, the guy who is first her friend, then her enemy and later something much more complicated—the guy she can say anything to, the guy who makes every inch of her feel wide awake in a way she hadn’t known was possible. The guy she might never see again. Or is there, despite the distance, somehow still a chance for them?

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

Book Review by Vickie:

OMG, what a good book!

I love the story line and all the things I learned about other places in the world.  I would love to be one of the characters in this story.  I think the characters were extremely well-developed and I think they are all awesome.  I could feel their emotions very strongly.

The book cover was intriguing and title of the book was perfect for the story.

I can’t say enough about this book.  It was put together very well and I loved everything about it.

I would recommend it to other readers.

It had some profanity and sexual explicitness throughout the book.

I give this book a literary rating of  5/5
written by vickie

Author Bio:

Long before I was an author I was a fan of books about Winnie the Pooh, Babar, Madeline, Anne Shirley and anything by Judy Blume. Throughout high school my favourite class was English. No surprise, then, that most of my time spent at York University in Toronto was as an English major–not the traditional way to graduate with a B.A. in Film Studies but a fine way to get a general arts education.

After getting my film studies degree I headed for Dublin, Ireland and spent the majority of the nineties there in forgettable jobs meeting unforgettable people and enjoying the buzz. I always thoughts I’d get around to writing in earnest eventually and I began writing my first novel in a flat in Dublin and finished it in a Toronto suburb. By then I’d discovered that writing about young characters felt the freshest and most exciting to me. You have most of your life to be an adult but you only grow up once.

Currently residing near Toronto with my Dub husband, I became an Irish citizen in 2001 and continue to visit Dublin as often as I can. My first young adult book, I Know It’s Over, came out with Random House in September 2008 and was followed by One Lonely Degree, The Lighter Side of Life and Death, My Beating Teenage Heart and Yesterday. I released Yesterday’s sequel, Tomorrow, in 2013 and put out my first adult novel, Come See About Me, as an ebook in June 2012. My most recent YA book, The Sweetest Thing You Can Sing, was published by Cormorant Books’ Dancing Cat Books imprint in 2014 and I’m pleased to announce they’ll be releasing my upcoming contemporary young adult novel, Delicate, on September 16th. Watch my website for more details!

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

XBTBanner1GIVEAWAY!

Tour-wide giveaway (INTL)
  • $40 Amazon gift card + a signed copy of Just Like You Said it Would Be
This grand prize giveaway – ends April 6th:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

15 Comments

  • Lisa Brown March 31, 2017 at 8:51 am

    Congrats on the tour, the book looks great, and thanks for the chance to win 🙂

  • Anne March 31, 2017 at 2:08 pm

    Thanks for this lovely feature and giveaway.

  • Giselle March 31, 2017 at 2:42 pm

    Glad you liked it, Vickie! This sounds like a well written and compelling book! 🙂

  • Cathy French March 31, 2017 at 3:48 pm

    Long distance romances don’t work…or do they? I am looking forward to reading this to find out.

  • Kate Sarsfield March 31, 2017 at 11:46 pm

    Thanks for the review Vickie!

  • C.K. April 1, 2017 at 12:03 am

    Thank you so much for being part of the tour, and for this lovely review. I really appreciate it!

    • LAWonder10 April 8, 2017 at 9:58 am

      Thank you, CK.
      Lu Ann

  • Irene Menge April 1, 2017 at 6:56 am

    Great review. Excellent bio. I don’t think long distance romances will work unless at least one of the partners has not strong connections to the place her or she currently resides. Like family of very close friends. Because sooner or later they’ll want to be together and how do they choose whom to leave behind?

    • LAWonder10 April 8, 2017 at 9:57 am

      Irene, I mostly agree, but I have known of a few it worked, regardless
      of the separation. It is like having to go abroad or across the country
      with a spouse in the military or where work takes them. Often there is not a choice.
      Thank for your comment and support on my site.
      Lu Ann

  • Kara Marks April 1, 2017 at 9:08 am

    Sounds like a good book, w/ really cool locations!

    • LAWonder10 April 8, 2017 at 9:54 am

      Thank you, Kara for your comment!
      Lu Ann

  • Lisa Coomer Queen April 1, 2017 at 7:23 pm

    This looks like an awesome book. I can’t wait to read it. Thanks!

  • Laurajj April 1, 2017 at 7:40 pm

    Oh it sounds so good! I love the cover! I cannot wait to read.

  • Linda April 2, 2017 at 11:34 pm

    Awesome! I’m always on the lookout for new Canadian fiction and authors. This is great.

  • Terri Quick April 5, 2017 at 9:50 pm

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway