Mary’s Song Blog Tour & International Giveaway! (ends 1/2/17)

December 27, 2016

Rockin’ Book Reviews thanks BeachBoundbooks for coordinating a Blog Tour & Giveaway for the children’s adventure book, Mary’s Song by Susan Count. The tour will run December 12, 2016 – January 2, 2017.
collages16Be sure to enter the International Giveaway by completing the Rafflecopter at the end of this posting 


About the Book

Title: Mary’s Song (Dream Horse Adventure Book 1) |
Author: Susan Count

Genre: Children’s
Fiction |
Number of Pages: 122 | Publisher: Hast
ings
Creations Group Release Date: October 20, 2016
Book Description: Mary’s heart breaks over the pending destruction of a beautiful, but damaged filly. When life is not fair, the courageous challenge the obstacles. Twelve-year-old Mary was disabled at the age of four by the same virus that took the life of her mother. While she longs to have a horse of her own, she’s limited to reading horse books. A talented artist, she spends her days on a blanket in the grass sketching the horses at the farm next door. She falls in love with one of the foals and is
outraged to learn the filly is considered worthless as it was born lame. Mary befriends and enlists the help of twelve-year-old Laura, whose family owns the horse farm. Against the better judgment of the farm manager, a brief reprieve is negotiated for the foal’s life.
The girls conspire to raise money to save her, but time is running out. Sadly, it appears the expensive surgery the foal needs has little chance to correct her problem anyway.
Mary isn’t about to give up. She sacrifices what she holds dear, including
the trust of her papa, to gain her heart’s desire. Will she lose everything in her struggle to save the foal?
amazon2

MY REVIEW:

Mary understood the “ups and downs” of life. Stuck in a wheel chair, her dad -nor Mary – ever gave up finding a cure for the disease which caused her the loss of leg function. Since she had a tutor at home, friends were unheard of until Laura rode into her life. They were the perfect balance – having parents of opposite characteristics, and one active and one not active, yet their interests and dispositions very similar. 

Mary had observed a foal since it’s birth. She could tell it’s leg wasn’t working right. After meeting Laura, she found the foal was to be “put down”. She couldn’t let that happen!

Laura made a deal with her father which seemed doomed from the start. Could she and Mary find a solution to this very BIG problem?

This  is a delightful tale of two girls and a horse which is sure to delight girls from ages 8 to 15, especially “horse lovers”! the characters are well-developed and seem to “come out of the pages”into real life. the various background scenes are formulated well and easily visualized.

The action is steady, the story interesting -but predictable- deems a solid Four Stars rating.
*This book was gifted me but does not influence this honest review.
What others are saying…
“An excellent and engaging book from start to finish. A must read.”
Amazon Review

“Susan Count knows how to write about horses, family, friendship, love, faith, and sacrifice. Her true-to-life characters easily engaged me in wanting to know more about them and how their conflicts would be resolved.” – Geoffrey W.
“A genuinely touching story about friendship and recovery. I strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a good horse book perfect for middle age girls!”
Amazon Review

EXCERPT:

“Lame and worthless. Just like me.”
She slipped the broken horse into her skirt pocket.
She struggled and strained to pull herself up off the floor, but collapsed as Papa burst into her room.
“What happened? I heard a commotion…Mary?”
He dropped to his knee beside her.
“What happened? Are you hurt?”
“I lost my balance when I tried to stand. I’m fine.”
“Let’s get you off the floor, shall we?”
He lifted and placed her on the bed.
“I think it would be best to call the doctor.”
“I’m fine!”
Mary said a little louder than she intended.
“The hot rock therapy didn’t help.”
Papa sat on the bed and took her hand.
“Don’t give up. We’ll find a therapy, my Mary. We’ll never stop trying.”
He patted her hand.
“You sure you’re all right? Maybe you should lie down.”
“I said I’m fine.”
But she looked out the window instead of into his eyes. She would never be all right.
“Can you take me outside now?”
“If you’re sure. Let’s get you out in some fresh air.”
He dropped a paper-wrapped bundle of carrot pieces in her lap.
Mary tucked her long dark hair behind her ears. Gathering her sketchpad and pencils to her chest, she drew a deep breath and nodded.

About the Author

One day…I began to write with no preconceived ideas about anything. Id read what I had written the day before and add another scene to the adventure. No one could have been
more astounded than I was when it turned into a book. The whole process gave me great joy and restored my spirit after a season of loss. My motivation was my desire to bless one particular young lady with a story to show her a love relationship in a family, with the Lord, and with a horse. I truly thought the story would remain in a drawer until she was old enough to read it. Surprise. I write at an antique secretary desk which belonged to the same grandmother who introduced me to horse books. The desk has secret compartments and occupies a glass room with a forest view. Bunnies and cardinals regularly interrupt my muse, as do my
horses grazing in a clearing.
Though I am a rider and lover of horses, I make no claims of expertise in any riding discipline. I hope that my research keeps me from annoying those who would know.
The only thing more fun than riding might be writing horse
adventure stories.
Saddle up and ride along!

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Blog Tour Giveaway

Prize: One winner will receive a $25 Amazon gift card or $25 PayPal
cash prize(winner’s choice)
Giveaway ends: January 2, 11:59 pm, 2017
Open to: Internationally.
How to enter: Please enter using the Rafflecopter widget below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms and Conditions: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. A winner will be randomly drawn
through the Rafflecopter widget and will be contacted by email within 48 hours after the giveaway ends. The winner will then have 72 hours to respond.
If the winner does not respond within 72 hours, a new draw will take place for a new winner. Odds of winning will vary depending on the number of eligible entries received. This contest is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with Facebook. This giveaway is sponsored by the author, Susan Count and is hosted and managed by Stacie from BeachBoundBooks. If you have any additional questions feel free to send an email to stacie@BeachBoundBooks.com.

2 Comments

  • KATE SARSFIELD December 28, 2016 at 1:26 am

    @1apple_blossom is a locked site and @lizardslaughter doesn’t exist!

  • Stacie @ BeachBoundBooks December 28, 2016 at 3:15 pm

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Mary’s Song. I am happy you enjoyed the book.