MORE THAN A SOLDIER Review Tour & Giveaway! [ends 6/24/17]

May 29, 2017

You have seen the Spotlight and now read my Review!

U.S.A. & Canada residents, don’t forget to enter the Rafflecopter at the end of this posting!

 Book Details:

Book Title:  More Than a Soldier: One Army Ranger’s Daring Escape From the Nazis
​Author: D.M. Annechino
Category:  Adult Fiction, 316 pages
Genre:  Historical Biography, WWII
Publisher:  CreateSpace
Release date:  April 2017
Tour dates: May 29 to June 16 2017
Content Rating: PG-13 (A few four-letter words and violence associated with war)

Book Description:

Feeling a patriotic duty to defend his country after Japan bombed Pearl Harbor, seventeen year old, Angelo J. DiMarco, enlists in the U.S. Army. Severely short of frontline fighters, the Army rushes Angelo through Ranger training and sends him to Italy as part of the 1st Ranger Battalion. Their objective: stop the German invasion.

Fighting on the front lines in Italy, the German’s teach Angelo a sobering lesson on life when they capture him during the bloody battle of Cisterna. Against insurmountable odds, Angelo miraculously escapes in a way that stretches the imagination. He survives behind enemy lines for over five months, hiding from the Germans and trying to outmaneuver them. He begs for food, sleeps in barns and suffers from many ailments, including dehydration, malnutrition, malaria and exposure to the elements.

More Than a Soldier is Angelo DiMarco’s powerful story of survival, resilience and courage.

My Review:

Based on a true story, this account of Angelo J. DiMarco’s dedication, fortitude and determination to return home is captivating and uplifting!

Without his parents knowledge, eighteen-year-old, recently graduated from High School, eldest of the five children, Angelo enlisted in the Army during World War ll. His parents had immigrated from Sicily when he was young and his paternal grandparents were from Germany, so Angelo spoke the Italian language fluently and knew German, too. He felt he could serve his country well. His dad was displeased with his enlistment without permission.

Angelo was disappointed when he received his first assignment after “boot camp” but persevered until he received his new training and assignment. Little did he know the events which he would face. His remarkable resilience, cleverness and determined nature is the only thing which saved him on many occasions. He was definitely “more than a soldier”.

The book cover and title depicts the story well. The characters in the story are “brought to life” and the situations described in, sometimes morbid, detail. The story is full of action and drama. It is, also, very emotional at times. The only thing I didn’t like is the strong profanity sometimes used.

This earns a Four and a Half Stars literary rating.
*Although this book was gifted to me, there was no obligation of giving a positive review. This is my unbiased, honest review.
Buy the Book: Amazon
Add to Goodreads
Praise for More Than a Soldier:

Annechino colorfully draws the actions scenes, and richly brings the supporting cast of characters to life. A moving tale of survival in war-torn Europe.
Kirkus Reviews

Nuanced and eloquently written, More Than a Soldier adds to the body of WWII literature an extraordinary story of survival and a deeply affecting portrait of a soldier’s coming-of-age.
The iRead Review

Meet the Author:

Daniel M. Annechino, a former book editor, wrote his first book, How to Buy the Most Car for the Least Money, while working as a General Manager in the automobile business. But his passion had always been fiction, particularly thrillers. He spent two years researching serial killers before finally penning his gripping and memorable debut novel They Never Die Quietly. He has written and published five novels—all thrillers. But his latest work, More Than a Soldier, is a Historical Biography set in Italy during WWII.

A native of New York, Annechino now lives in San Diego with his wife, Jennifer. He loves to cook, enjoys a glass of vintage wine, and spends lots of leisure time on the warm beaches of Southern California.

Connect with the Author:  Website  ~  Twitter  ~  Facebook

BOOK REVIEW TOUR:

May 29 –  Rockin’ Book Reviews – review / giveaway
May 30 –  Gabriel’s Wharf – review
May 30 –  Books, Dreams, Life – review / giveaway
May 31 –  Working Mommy Journal – review / giveaway
June 1   – Il Mio Tesoro – review
June 2   –   NorthernMsw – review
June 5   –   Svetlana’s Reads and Views – review
June 6   –   Man of la Book – review / giveaway
June 6   –   Cheryl’s Book Nook – review / giveaway
June 7   –   What Cathy Read Next – review / giveaway
June 8   –   Puddletown Reviews – review / giveaway
June 9   –   Olio by Marilyn – review / giveaway
June 12 – Bound 4 Escape – review / giveaway
June 13 – Library of Clean Reads – review / giveaway
June 14 – Leels Loves Books – review
June 15 – Nighttime Reading Center – review / giveaway
June 16 – The World As I See It – review / giveaway

 Enter the Giveaway!

Win a $25 Amazon gift card (open to USA & Canada – one winner)

Ends June 24

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

14 Comments

  • Lisa Brown May 29, 2017 at 12:39 pm

    Congrats on the tour and thanks for the chance to win 🙂

  • Janet W. May 29, 2017 at 12:42 pm

    I love going back in time! Sounds like an excellent read!

  • Cathy French May 29, 2017 at 2:57 pm

    I am fascinated by ww2 stories. If I’m not reading about it I’m watching something on tv for that time period whether it be fiction or nonfiction.

  • Lacey Waters May 29, 2017 at 4:14 pm

    This looks like very interesting read.

  • D.M. Annechino May 29, 2017 at 9:51 pm

    Lu Ann,
    Thank you so much for the articulate and in-depth review of More Than a Soldier. I’m delighted that you enjoyed it. I also thank you for posting your review on Amazon.

    D.M. Annechino

  • James Robert May 30, 2017 at 10:34 am

    Thanks for the review and giveaway and congrats on the tour.

  • Elena May 30, 2017 at 5:45 pm

    Sounds like a good read.

  • Sheila K. June 2, 2017 at 10:09 pm

    This sounds like a thrilling read!

  • Terri Quick June 3, 2017 at 8:52 pm

    Thank you for hosting this giveaway 🙂

  • Natalie June 14, 2017 at 10:25 pm

    I love that this story is full of action and drama!

  • Tracie Cooper June 18, 2017 at 4:27 pm

    I love an action packed story, sounds perfect for a summer read at the beach!

    • LAWonder10 June 19, 2017 at 9:07 am

      Tracie, You would certainly like this, then!
      Thank you for your comment and support on my site.
      Lu Ann

  • Laurajj June 19, 2017 at 10:54 pm

    Oh I really love the historical war stories! I cannot wait to read this one. I have a feeling it will be hard to put down!

  • Thomas Murphy June 24, 2017 at 12:55 am

    sounds like a great book! Thanks for the giveaway