Book Review Policies

February 5, 2014

Rockin’ Book Reviews Policies for 2015/2016:

Due to a wonderful, yet, overwhelming support from various authors and media, I have become regrettably very backlogged – as are most of us serious Reviewers. Therefore, I find it necessary to set stricter policies for 2016/17. My average reading/reviewing is 4+ books per week.  I will read /review your book at the quickest possible opportunity.

I would like to introduce to you my site and my policies:

Although I have been officially reviewing books for seven years, I only opened my book review blog in June 2013. (http://www.rockinbookreviews.com)

I have had many wonderful experiences – along with very painful lessons – causing my site to better promote wholesome authors for my “followers”.

– I would very much appreciate it if you would leave a comment while visiting my site, and “Follow ” me on any of the social medias. –

Policy 1.)

*Due to Amazons new rules and guidelines, I am altering my Review Policies as well.

Promotions and Commercial Solicitations
In order to preserve the integrity of Community content, content and activities consisting of advertising, promotion, or solicitation (whether direct or indirect) is not allowed, including:
  • Creating, modifying, or posting content regarding your (or your relative’s, close friend’s, business associate’s, or employer’s) products or services.
  • Creating, modifying, or posting content regarding your competitors’ products or services.
  • Creating, modifying, or posting content in exchange for compensation of any kind (including free or discounted products) or on behalf of anyone else.
  • Offering compensation or requesting compensation (including free or discounted products) in exchange for creating, modifying, or posting content.
  • Posting advertisements or solicitations, including URLs with referrer tags or affiliate codes.

In the past Amazon allowed reviewers to post a review in exchange for a free or discounted product as long as they disclosed that fact. Now, they state the following:

NOTE:**Book authors and publishers may continue to provide free or discounted copies of their books to readers, as long as the author or publisher does not require a review in exchange or attempt to influence the review.

Therefore, from now on if  a physical copy is provided they will receive first priority but I can no longer promise a review in exchange. Instead  I will be stating…

“I received this book free of charge from the author or publisher.” or “I was gifted this book and in no way am required to give a positive review.”

*Although I receive the book, that does not mean it will be quickly read.
*I, then, keep it in my library and allow family and friends to borrow them with an agreement that they send in a review.
This way it is a win/win situation.

{*Exception: *book on CDs will usually get a 1st priority, since I can listen while doing other activities.}

(With the books I receive, I commit to only post reviews which I feel earns at least Three Stars.)

However, I, still, no longer accept e-books, or electronic audio books .

~There are LITERALLY Thousands of e-books on my device that authors have requested a review on. (Most will be deleted when I find the time) ***The ONLY way I can feel compensated for my time is with physical copy in my hand or CD audio copies made available for an honest review.  The review copies in no way obligates me to give a positive review. ~

You are welcome to check out the reviews on my site. I also submit my reviews to Goodreads (under Lu & LAWonder10) and on Amazon, + The Library Thing.    In addition to these, I list on a few Christian sites and book clubs – all under the name – LAWonder10.

-Temporarily, I am having a problem with Barnes and Nobles so do not post there untii it is resolved –

Policy 2.) 

I wish to read/review only those books which can be determined to be PG (In some cases PG-13).
For those I feel are laudable, I will do all in my power to help promote them

Policy #3 + present author/publicst opportunity):
a.)**I will only be accepting new books on the  “Open” week which is posted in my Policies

The next “open week” will be beginning on July 10th t0  16th. ( This does not mean they will be read near that date, only that they will be added to my review shelf in the order they arrive,)
**IMPORTANT NOTE: After b12/15/2017, I will not be accepting further books [except from the Publicists/Tours I am pre-committed to] – unless it is a children’s book – due to a number of family health & computer issues, some very close friends and family members deaths and other calamities I have been bombarded with these past two years, has caused me to  be very backlogged.

b.) Please contact me for “Special Promotional”, requests, or to receive notification of “Open” weeks of which I will be receiving additional books for review. This way I will be able to better control the amount of backlog and be of a more efficacious service.

Please Note:***However, I do offer a tremendous book promotion opportunity to those books awaiting review. I am a member of three major Blogging groups which hold Blog Giveaway Hops at least once a month (more often during the Holiday Season).

For those authors/publicists who wish to participate, for a minimal obligation the book and author will be Spotlighted and promoted in the Hop. Tens of thousands and more have the opportunity to view the  book and many enter the Giveaways. For further information, inquire with the email address at the end of this posting.

If I can be of service to you or any colleague, please contact me. I will at that time send you the mailing address.

Thank you for connecting with me.

Sincerely,
Lu Ann                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               <laworley10@gmail.com>

41 Comments

  • Aubrey Wynne May 15, 2015 at 10:43 pm

    I love your professionalism with the reviews. Thanks for all you do for authors.

    • RBR Webmaster May 16, 2015 at 7:34 am

      Thank you so much for those kind words, Aubrey. It makes many frustrating times all worth while!
      Lu Ann

  • Malcolm Torres May 22, 2015 at 4:45 pm

    Thanks for being so professional about this, and thanks for everything you are doing for authors, readers and to promote overall literacy and enjoyment of reading. I’ll try to send one of my books to you and see if you like it.

    • RBR Webmaster May 22, 2015 at 6:22 pm

      Thank you, Malcolm, for your kind thoughts and support.
      Lu Ann

  • Lori L. MacLaughlin May 31, 2015 at 2:08 pm

    Thank you for being a reviewer. Book reviewers are such an integral part of an indie author’s success. I would love to send you a copy of my fantasy adventure novel for review. Please let me know if you would be interested and, if so, when you would have the time.

    • RBR Webmaster June 1, 2015 at 3:02 am

      Hi Lori,
      I appreciate your kind words. I feel most Indie authors are every bit as talented as those through big publishers.
      My “hat’s off to you”!
      I will email you with the information you need.
      Lu Ann

  • Robert Matero June 13, 2015 at 1:28 pm

    Hi Lu Ann,

    First of all, thank you for providing this service and opportunity for authors.

    I hope i’m understanding you correctly but if I send you two copies of my children’s book you will review it when you have the opportunity and pass on the second copy for others to read and review.
    I do not have a website (i hope this doesn’t disqualify me) and am wondering where do I send the books. Also, would you like them autographed?

    Warmest regards,

    Bob

    • LAWonder10 June 15, 2015 at 7:45 am

      Hi Bob,
      Did you get my response from my laworley10@gmail.com ?
      Thank you for your support & comment. It certainly does not disqualify you!
      Lu Ann

  • Susan Allred July 8, 2015 at 6:54 am

    What a fantastic opportunity for authors or aspiring authors. Especially those who are hoping to put out quality G-rated products. Kudos to you!

    Susan

    • LAWonder10 July 9, 2015 at 5:44 am

      Susan,
      You are so great! Thank you for those kind words of encouragement!
      I truly appreciate it.
      Lu Ann

  • Mark Boyd July 26, 2015 at 8:43 pm

    Lu Ann,
    I feel so silly for not having checked your review site for your requirements. Please forgive my ignorance, (dragons are usually smarter than that.) Please check out my site, if you would like. If interested in a read/review, I would be glad to send you an autographed copy of Book I and Book II. I am currently over halfway through with Book III. Hopefully a late fall release. I look forward to hearing from you one way or the other.
    Blessings
    Mark Boyd

  • Alice Langholt August 8, 2015 at 5:51 pm

    Hi Lu Ann,

    I think you have a very clear and professionally explained policy, and am excited to send you a request, and would love to send you two books for this upcoming open week. I also am so impressed about your library arrangement. What an awesome opportunity!

    Warmly,
    Alice

    • LAWonder10 August 10, 2015 at 6:42 am

      Thank you, Alice for those kind words! I truly appreciate them.
      I am looking forward to your book and I thank you in advance for the library. They are in dire need of funding.
      With Appreciation,
      Lu Ann

    • LAWonder10 August 14, 2015 at 6:16 am

      Alice,
      I look forward to receiving them. Our Library will love it!
      Thank you.
      Lu Ann

  • Janet Ruth Heller August 13, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    Dear Lu Ann,

    Thank you so much for reviewing books of different kinds. You provide an important service for writers. I will send you my books soon.

    Best wishes!

    Janet Ruth Heller

    • LAWonder10 August 14, 2015 at 5:58 am

      Thank you, Janet, for such kind words and for your support.
      I look forward to receiving your books.
      Lu Ann

  • Gita V. Reddy September 19, 2015 at 10:16 am

    A wonderfully uncluttered blog with well organised reviews. Congratulations, Lu Ann. All the Best.

    • LAWonder10 September 22, 2015 at 2:37 am

      Gita,
      Thank you.
      I hope you will continue to visit it often and enter the Giveaways on it.
      Your kind remarks mean a lot to me.
      Lu Ann

  • Ebony Jones September 22, 2015 at 9:34 am

    I would love for you to review my new book. How can I send it to you?

    • LAWonder10 September 23, 2015 at 5:08 am

      Hi Ebony!
      Did you read my Book Review Policies page?
      Contact me at laworley10@gmail.com and I will send you further info.
      Thank you.
      Lu Ann

  • michelle eastman September 24, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    Hello. We are friends on Goodreads, and I enjoy reading your reviews and suggestions. I have a new children’s picture book out called Dust Fairy Tales, Absolutely Aggie (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26711723-dust-fairy-tales). I would like to send you a copy for review consideration. I think the idea you have for your library pilot program is fantastic as well.

    Thank you,
    Michelle Eastman

    • LAWonder10 September 25, 2015 at 9:04 am

      Michelle E.,
      Thank you so much. Your kind words are precious to me.
      I would be delighted to receive/read/review your book(s).
      Please contact me on laworley10@gmail.com and I will send you the needed info.
      With Appreciation,
      Lu Ann

  • Elaine Pease May 5, 2016 at 10:27 pm

    Hi Lu Ann,
    I just came across your response to my inquiry about reviewing my “then” new non-fiction children’s book, in an October Linked In! I’m so sorry I missed this. You kindly offered to do it then. I know you’re next window is July 1, but wondering if you might make an exception. It’s a quick read (promise) targeted for emergent readers, six chapters, SAFE AT LAST. TRUE STORIES OF HORSE RESCUES. Thanks for considering.
    Warmly,
    Elaine

  • Bill Morgenstein June 12, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    Note that I believe that my book would be rated PG-13 since there are some curse words which were used in conjunction with quoting other peoples conversations. Would this be suitable for submission?

    • LAWonder10 June 13, 2016 at 6:58 am

      If the Curse words include God’s name in vain, I am so
      tired of these I am not wanting to read anymore than I must.
      If not, it would probably be okay if there aren’t too many.
      Let me know.
      Thank you.
      Lu Ann

  • Gina McKnight June 19, 2016 at 4:00 pm

    Hi Lu Ann…
    We connected via LinkedIn sometime ago. I was wondering if you have time to review my Christian Children’s Book “The Blackberry Patch” .. Please let me know if you are available. I am mailing you a copy for your perusal/review. I’ve connected on Goodreads, twitter, etc., and look forward to collaborating. Blessings for a perfect day.
    True regards,
    Gina

    • LAWonder10 June 20, 2016 at 7:18 am

      Gina, that sounds great@! I am not as backlogged on my Children’s books as I am on the YA
      & Adult ones.
      I am looking forward to it.
      Lu Ann

  • Nancy Janes August 24, 2016 at 5:52 pm

    Lu Ann,

    I need your address in order to send my latest book to you for review. It’s not new exactly, but I respect your reviews and know that you will do an honest one. This second book is about the land of darkness as the first was the land of light. Night Rumbles is a humorous science fiction read.

    Thanks,
    Nancy Janes

    • LAWonder10 August 26, 2016 at 5:55 pm

      Nancy,
      I emailed my address to you.
      Thank you for your kind words and support.
      Lu Ann

  • Donald Brobst November 10, 2016 at 6:19 pm

    I would love to have your review my book, The Ghost of Africa (which has nothing to do with ghosts). It is an inspirational, Christian thriller/suspense book. If you’re willing to do so. when can I send you a copy to review?

    Thank you so much!

    • LAWonder10 November 12, 2016 at 5:42 am

      Hi, Donald. Thank you for your interest. I replied on my email to your request.
      With Appreciation,
      Lu Ann

  • Peggy Browning February 16, 2017 at 7:17 pm

    I appreciate that you are so open and straightforward about your review policies.
    Peggy

    • LAWonder10 February 26, 2017 at 7:00 am

      Thank you, Peggy. I appreciate you reading them and for your comment.
      Lu Ann

  • Oneil Gray April 18, 2017 at 12:30 am

    Heal A Nation. by the Banana Boat Man (OG)

  • Curtis W. Jackson June 21, 2017 at 2:05 pm

    Hello,

    My acknowledgement you are not accepting anymore book reviews. I can understand also how easy it is to get overwhemed with priorities and be behind schedule, life can get stressful beyond our. means. In addition, I wish to express my sorrow for the loss of your love ones.
    My novel Waiting for Regina is a coming of age drama involving the death of a high school friend and possible suicide. It is also a mild PG-13 with no profanity, sexual situlations and entertaining violence. There is a free 18-page book preview on Barnes and Noble online book store.
    Although, you may be in the position to review the publication, do you know of anyone else who may be interested in reading it including youths and their parents or guardians? My blog site is here at http://www.57Pages.blogspot.com, one of the book’s product pages is below, thank you so much for your consideration. May you and your kin be comforted from the pains of death, good health to you.

    • LAWonder10 June 21, 2017 at 6:56 pm

      CURTIS, THANK YOU.
      I HAVE SLIGHTLY REDONE MY POLICIES PAGE. IF YOU CAN
      CONTACT ME ON MY EMAIL FOR MAILING ADDRESS AND SEND
      ME A COPY FOR REVIEW, I WILL ADD IT IN WITH THIS YEAR’S
      REVIEW COPIES.
      AS STATED, BLOG HOPS CAN BRING MORE INTEREST THAN REVIEWS ALONE.
      THANK YOU.
      LU ANN

  • Helen Fox July 5, 2017 at 2:51 pm

    Dear Lu Ann,
    All those lovely comments from your authors and your humble replies, tell me you are a wonderful person and a brilliant reviewer. I am Helen Fox, the author of ‘George the Orphan Crow and the Creatures of Blossom Valley,’ a children’s book for the ages of 9-12 years. It is 140 pages long and the ISBN is: 1785385054. It an original story of friendship and courage, revenge and forgiveness within the human-like world of the creatures of Blossom Valley.
    I would be for ever grateful, for a review from Lu Ann on Goodreads would be priceless for me. I have given my name and email address. I do not have a Website.
    I thank you in advance and look forward to your reply. Helen Fox.

    • LAWonder10 July 6, 2017 at 8:10 am

      Helen, what a wonderful complement you have given me! I cherish those words!
      Please visit httpo://rockinbookreviews.com and read my Book Review Policies page there.
      If you are still interested, the email to contact me with is listed there.
      Again, thank you very much!
      Lu Ann

  • Helen Fox July 17, 2017 at 5:57 pm

    My dear Lu Ann, you answered my request so promptly, no other reviewer would have done, and you wrote you would be honoured to review my book. You, honoured? My dear Lu Ann, you are such a wonderful Humble person. The Honour is all mine. Thank you!!! The book is on its way to you. God bless you. Helen.

    • LAWonder10 July 18, 2017 at 8:52 am

      Thank you, Helen, for those gracious and kind words.
      Blessings,
      Lu Ann

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *