The Prehistoric Masters of Art by Elise Wallace Book Review & Giveaway! (ends 1/2/17)

December 22, 2016

Once again Quarto BookPublishing is making this Review/Giveaway possible! (Sorry, this is only for US./Can. Residents)

Jurassic Classics: The Prehistoric Masters of Art: Discover art history with a prehistoric twist! by Saskia Lacey

Published December 5th 2016 by Walter Foster Jr , Hardcover, 40 pages

ISBN:1633221806 (ISBN13: 9781633221802

Synopsis per Goodreads:

Using dinosaur mashups as a creative way to introduce art history, The Prehistoric Masters of Art explores the lives of the famous “masters” of our past.

Jurassic Classics: The Prehistoric Masters of Art uses prehistoric dinosaur humor to introduce young readers to art history in a fun and inviting new way. The Prehistoric Masters of Art features an assortment of artist bio Using dinosaur mashups as a creative way to introduce art history, The Prehistoric Masters of Art explores the lives of the famous “masters” of our past.

Jurassic Classics: The Prehistoric Masters of Art uses prehistoric dinosaur humor to introduce young readers to art history in a fun and inviting new way. The Prehistoric Masters of Art features an assortment of artist biographies, each with a “prehistoric” twist, such as Leonardo da Vilociraptor, Vincent van Guanadon, and Frida Kahlopholus. After a brief “dino” history of each artist, a clever parody of his or her most famous sketches and paintings is included, as well as a true-to-life biography, with actual facts and descriptions about the life of each artist.

https://www.quartoknows.com/books/9781633221802/Jurassic-Classics-The-Prehistoric-Masters-of-Art.html?direct=1
My Review:
I love this series of cleverly created stories! They are written to mix humor and curiosity, captivating the further interest needed to present lessons of art.
The author begins the stories with human-like talking dinosaurs, introducing their “art”, then follows on the next pages with a factual story of a true artist of the “ancestor” previously introduced. Most comment on a few of well-known paintings. Their are always special “tid-bits” of information at the end of each artist’s story. In each Jurassic “ancestors story, there is also a tiny Booklet giving more detail of the prehistoric “Master”.
I was made aware of Frida Kahlo. This is an artist I had never before heard of. She created paintings drawn from her very dramatic life. I am inspired to further investigate this artist, as I am sure your young man/woman will want to do as well.
The book is whimsically illustrated by Senur Isik, to enhance the effect the author wishes to portray. The Cover and Title are both a great “fit” for this book. I do not feel this one is as effective as a couple of others but is still entertaining.
*This was gifted to me, but I am not required to give a positive review. This is my honest review.
I rate this with Three nd a Half Stars

 U.S./Can Residents, enter below for your chances to Win You Own Copy!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 Comments

  • anne December 22, 2016 at 3:28 pm

    My favorite artist is Marc Chagall. The Jerusalem Windows are incomparable and wonderful.

  • Linda December 22, 2016 at 5:42 pm

    My favourite artist is Edward Gorey. I like how he matches his drawings with non sequiturs.

  • John Smith December 23, 2016 at 12:50 am

    I have lots of favorite artists, but one of them is the Italian artist Bronzino. He was a Mannerist, which refers to the late-renaissance or post-renaissance art that took all of the lessons and techniques of the High Renaissance masters and pushed them up a notch, with deep, saturated colors and physical exaggeration, such as extremely elongated necks and limbs. He painted on panels, and when you stand in front of the paintings, the smooth, polished painting becomes almost like a work of sculpture as you watch the light dance across the various brushstrokes.

  • edye December 23, 2016 at 10:11 pm

    I love anything by Van Gogh!

  • Crafty Nunn December 29, 2016 at 2:05 pm

    I love Pinkie and Blue Boy. I saw them in Paris…. they are just breath taking and so pretty.

  • Theresa C. December 31, 2016 at 12:02 am

    I absolutely adore Claude Monet! I love the blurred lines of his paintings, and the cool blue-green colours – lovely book for a giveaway – thank you!