WESTOBOU GOLD Spotlight Tour & International Giveaway! (ends 12/3/16)

November 24, 2016

This will appeal to many who enjoys “old Southern” sentiment. It is strictly an adult novel.RBR-button-small

I give Gratitude to the outstanding iReadsfor presenting this Spotlight Tour & Giveaway.

westobou-goldBook Details:
Book Title: Westobou Gold (Moccasin Trace Mystery Series Book 2) Author: Hawk MacKinney

Category:  Adult fiction, 224  pages
Genre:  Mystery/Suspense
Publisher:  Sage Words Publishing
Release date:  Oct 9, 2016
Tour dates:  Nov 14 to 25, 2016
Content Rating:  R (Graphic murder and sex scenes throughout the book.)

Book Description:

The Indian Queen would risk torture and worse to keep her secrets from these barbarians in suits of metal and their search for cities of gold. They never found the gold. Empires rose; empires fell, the centuries passed. Legend became fireside myths, but no treasure was ever found. Yet, among the grey-green drapes of wisteria and wild jasmine along the misty shrouded lowlands of bayous and marshes of the Westo River, the folktales persist.
In the lazed creep of a near-tropical dawn lit the pungent Turkish coffee permeates Moccasin Hollow. Beyond the kitchen door Lucky, Craige Ingram’s German shepherd gnaws a favorite bone. Looted burial mounds seem a world away until plundered mounds on Moccasin Hollow land brings amateur archaeologist PI Craige Ingram into the cross-hairs of kidnapping. Stealthy hideaways are concealed in old colonial brick-lined river grottoes beneath the big house of Ardochy plantation. Sex-tape underage blackmail and thrill killings on federal land spur a medical examiner’s preliminary postmortem to more than a hired cleaner’s quickie cover-up passed off as drug deals gone sour. Greed tangles a witch’s pigswill of illicit affairs and murder-to-hide-murder. Shady investigators and shadier politics stir an unexpected concoction that threatens the lives of those at Moccasin Hollow in a spiteful plot against ex-SEAL Craige Ingram and the woman he loves.
Buy the Book:  Amazon  ~  Barnes & Noble

HAWK MacKINNEY

GUEST POST:

Hawk MacKinney is an internationally acclaimed author and public speaker. A retired U.S. Navy officer, Hawk was on the postdoctoral faculties in the states and England, as well as the Hadassah Medical School in Jerusalem. His undergraduate, postdoctoral studies followed by PhD studies involved several medical specialties along with concurrent majors in neurology, language, chordates embryology and international histories of England and Russia. Today, Hawk lives along the deceptively lazy river of the Westos.

***I wouldn’t take anything for having grown up with unanticipated treasures…the colloquial/everyday expressions, idioms, syntax and Elizabethan phrases that still live among my kinfolk. One can strike the very personal interplay between reader and character by manipulation of the studied colloquial, and one of my early-learned caveats—syntax and idioms can be treacherous. A reader easily spots a writer trying to use dialogue that is awkward and does not fit, and definitively not drawn from one’s native tongue or upbringing. In historical novels research is especially important, and I often draw from my own family. “Southron grandmas” know their history down to the snuff their grandmas liked to dip. I write across several genres that includes mystery thrillers, historical romance, and science fiction.  My Southron upbringing has led me to write from the heart, and quite often my fiction is another version of a tale told from my grandma’s knee which makes me believe that a writer’s characters have a part of us in each of them.” Mark Twain said, “Don’t part with your illusions. When they are gone you may still exist, but you have ceased to live.”

Author’s Bio:

hawk-mackinney

Internationally acclaimed author and public speaker, Hawk MacKinney began writing mysteries for his school newspapers. He served in the US Navy Reserve for over 20 years, and was a tenured faculty member at several state medical facilities, teaching postgraduate courses in both the United States and Jerusalem, Israel. Since retiring Hawk has authored several novels that have received national and international recognition. Moccasin Trace, a historical novel, was nominated for the prestigious Michael Shaara Award for Excellence in Civil War Fiction and the Writers Notes Book Award. The Cairns of Sainctuarie, his science fiction series, includes The Bleikovat Event and The Missing Planets, with a third book in the works. Hawk’s latest project focuses on The Moccasin Hollow Mystery Series. Book 1 in the series, Hidden Chamber of Death, was released early 2016.

Connect with the author:  Website

To Follow the Tour schedule click on the following link author’s iRead home page.

 

Giveaway:

Prize: Win a $25 Amazon Gift Card (open int’l / 1 winner)

Ends Dec 3

For your chances to WIN complete the Rafflecopter below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

23 Comments

  • Deborah Caudill November 24, 2016 at 12:19 pm

    This excerpt let me know that this latest book is going to be an all nighter! This book is going to be so fast paced and intriguing and I can’t wait to read it! Thanks for the giveaway too.

    • Hawk MacKinney November 24, 2016 at 1:03 pm

      Deborah CAUDILL – There’s parts of Westobou Gold that go slow-fast & light speed AND parts you shouldn’t read alone on a thundery stormy night when haints walk about. To paraphrase this host site, Rockin’ Book Reviews hinted at it mo’betta – – “…appeal to many who enjoy Southron <not a misspell] romanticism. Thanx for stopping by & good luck on the giveaway –

      Hawk MacK

  • Hawk MacKinney November 24, 2016 at 12:54 pm

    Rockin’ Book Reviews – Thank you for hosting Westobou Gold, Book 2 in the Moccasin Hollow Mystery Series. The galley for Book 3 in the series is in final edits as well as a sci-fi title also in galley. An earlier historical romance, Moccasin Trace, establishes the bloodline(s) of Craige Ingram in the Moccasin Hollow Series.

    Hawk MacKinney
    http://www.hawkmackinney.net

    • LAWonder10 November 24, 2016 at 2:04 pm

      My pleasure, Hawk!
      Thank you to your response to a couple of the emails!
      Lu Ann

      • Hawk MacKinney November 24, 2016 at 11:11 pm

        LAWonder10 – You’re welcome. Simple courtesy is never wasted to new acquaintances & to those that’ve helped along the way. Although it’s seriously lacking in today’s world, one loses nothing with ‘thank U & please.’

        Hawk MacKinney
        http://www.hawkmackinney.net

  • patty November 24, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    Finding a new Author and looking forward to reading this book !

    • Hawk MacKinney November 24, 2016 at 11:03 pm

      Patty – Hope your read is as much fun as the writing – thank U stopping by =

      Hawk MacK

  • clojo9372 November 24, 2016 at 10:17 pm

    This book sounds very fascinating based on its description. Thank you for sharing it with all of us and good luck with the release! 🙂

    • Hawk MacKinney November 24, 2016 at 11:05 pm

      Clojo9372 – The descript is right on the money. You’re welcome to the share, & thank U for the good & for stopping by –

      Hawk MacK

  • Daniel M November 24, 2016 at 11:08 pm

    i liked the description

    • Hawk MacKinney November 24, 2016 at 11:12 pm

      Daniel M – I’d like to claim the descript as my doing, but the editors on our team really sharpened it up. Thanx for stopping by –

      Hawk MacK

  • KATE SARSFIELD November 24, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    My word, Mr. Hawk has certainly experienced a lot! I do like the use of language in the description.

    • Hawk MacKinney November 25, 2016 at 12:45 am

      Kate SARSFIELD – More experiences than I ever planned…and the idioms in one’s native tongue are the true safe ones with expressions straight from our Anglo-Saxon mixes & bloodline migrations. Language/idioms can make a character real to the reader without the use of tags AND is a step in a reader’s identifying with their favorite character. Thankx for stopping by –

      Hawk MacK

  • Fee Roberts November 25, 2016 at 4:43 pm

    I like the Author’s Bio. It’s always nice to know a bit about an author before reading a book. It sometimes gives me an insight into the mind of an author at the time of their writing.

  • Hawk MacKinney November 26, 2016 at 2:02 pm

    Fee ROBERTS – You are not the first of my followers to express the exact same thing. My literary agent keeps encouraging me to let readers know at least some bits & pieces. Included below is my website with titles on the HOME page AND bio inserts/videos. Thank U for your comment – it is much appreciated –

    Hawk MacKinney
    http://www.hawkmackinney.net

  • Linda November 27, 2016 at 8:04 am

    I like the book description. It sounds exciting!

  • debbie s December 2, 2016 at 3:22 am

    Sounds like a very interesting read and a bit of a treasure hunt. Mystical magical and interesting 🙂

  • Judy Thomas December 2, 2016 at 9:39 am

    Loved the book description!

    • Hawk MacKinney December 8, 2016 at 6:33 pm

      Judy THOMAS – The editors did a great job with the synopsis/descript – thanx for stopping by –

      Hawk MacK

  • Amy Bowens December 2, 2016 at 9:39 pm

    The book description sounds amazing. Thanks for sharing

    • Hawk MacKinney December 8, 2016 at 6:37 pm

      Amy BOWENS – Thanx for stopping by & to my editors for the descript – enjoy the read & you’re welcome to the sharing –

      Hawk MacK

  • Audrey Stewart December 3, 2016 at 1:53 am

    I loved reading this post and learning about this story. I love the cover. I always enjoy water falls.